top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlina Liu

Week 1: Introduction & Drawing

js.p5 Drawing


In this first week, we were introduced to the JavaScript library, js.p5. Using the basic codes we learned, I was able to create a 2D drawing like this.



One thing that I noticed when doing this week's works is that the clarity of the code is important, especially when the code gets longer. By separating the code with blank lines (not sure if it is the right way to do it), and adding notes, I feel easier to track back and understand what I wrote myself.


Here is the link to the sketch above: https://editor.p5js.org/alinaliuhl/sketches/lbnrEBZuc


How Computation Applies to My Interests


The very first project I did with coding and physical computing was an upper arm prosthesis in my undergrad. I expected my prosthesis to have a remote control function, and to prove it would work, I built a demo using Arduino Uno, motors, and some sensors. My starting point was actually simple. Even I didn't have any coding knowledge at that point, I wanted to make it and see how it would work. I am glad now I didn't avoid the challenge and pivot to another topic, or I won't be in ITP today.


After graduation, I joined a wearable tech studio. Although not all of our projects are related to coding and programming, they still are highly relied on new technologies and new materials.


I have been to a Teamlab exhibition in Beijing, and I was very attracted to the work they have done. Before that, I had no idea that coding could make some artwork as beautiful and interesting as this.


As an industrial designer, I think computation is a tool that adds possibilities to my works. It gives me another view of the world, besides what I can see by my bare eyes.


Question Section


01. When I was doing the sketch above, I was wondering if there are functions like mirror() or rotate(). So I don't need to draw the same elements twice. Or maybe these kinds of tasks are not supposed to be done by js.p5 but illustrator...


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page