top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlina Liu

Week 4: First Little Project

My initial idea for the project is to make a series of LEDs controlled by photoresistors to create a responsive experience, for example, a whack-a-mole game. I planned to include 4 groups of LEDs and resistors for testing this time. ( I got my new breadboard this week, and it works perfectly. )


Here is my first schematic of how I think the circuit would work. The LEDs will just be connected to output pins and GND.


Then I had the circuit completed, but it didn't work for the first time. All LEDs lit up no matter if the resistors were cover or not. And because the circuit was so messy, I couldn't find what was the problem. I showed my code and the circuit to my sister (she learned Physical Computing as her interest in middle school). She told me to keep only one set so we could figure out the problem easier.



We opened the serial monitor and saw the readings were over 1000 constantly, which meant the photoresistor was not working. Looking back to the circuit, I realized the 2 connections of resistors were in the same junction...


After fixing the problem, I tidied up the circuit. Also, I adjusted the range of the resistors' reaction value and added a delay to the readings.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page